Detailed population of China

Detailed population of China

These are the provinces, their capital cities and detailed population of China.

  1. Anhui Province
    Population: 63.3 million
    Capital city: Hefei (population: 7.5 million)
  2. Fujian Province
    Population: 39.7 million
    Capital city: Fuzhou (population: 7.1 million)
  3. Gansu Province
    Population: 26.2 million
    Capital city: Lanzhou (population: 3.6 million)
  4. Guangdong Province
    Population: 125.9 million
    Capital city: Guangzhou (population: 15.3 million)
  5. Guizhou Province
    Population: 38.7 million
    Capital city: Guiyang (population: 4.3 million)
  6. Hainan Province
    Population: 9.3 million
    Capital city: Haikou (population: 2.3 million)
  7. Hebei Province
    Population: 75.4 million
    Capital city: Shijiazhuang (population: 11.4 million)
  8. Heilongjiang Province
    Population: 37.5 million
    Capital city: Harbin (population: 10.6 million)
  9. Henan Province
    Population: 96.1 million
    Capital city: Zhengzhou (population: 10.1 million)
  10. Hubei Province
    Population: 59.3 million
    Capital city: Wuhan (population: 8.8 million)
  11. Hunan Province
    Population: 68.9 million
    Capital city: Changsha (population: 7.7 million)
  12. Jiangsu Province
    Population: 80.1 million
    Capital city: Nanjing (population: 8.3 million)
  13. Jiangxi Province
    Population: 46.8 million
    Capital city: Nanchang (population: 5.4 million)
  14. Jilin Province
    Population: 27.5 million
    Capital city: Changchun (population: 7.5 million)
  15. Liaoning Province
    Population: 43.7 million
    Capital city: Shenyang (population: 8.1 million)
  16. Qinghai Province
    Population: 5.8 million
    Capital city: Xining (population: 2.3 million)
  17. Shaanxi Province
    Population: 38.8 million
    Capital city: Xi’an (population: 9.0 million)
  18. Shandong Province
    Population: 100.5 million
    Capital city: Jinan (population: 7.1 million)
  19. Shanxi Province
    Population: 36.8 million
    Capital city: Taiyuan (population: 4.3 million)
  20. Sichuan Province
    Population: 81.4 million
    Capital city: Chengdu (population: 16.3 million)
  21. Yunnan Province
    Population: 48.7 million
    Capital city: Kunming (population: 8.5 million)
  22. Zhejiang Province
    Population: 57.4 million
    Capital city: Hangzhou (population: 10.4 million)
  23. Tibet Autonomous Region
    Population: 3.4 million
    Capital city: Lhasa (population: 500,000)
  24. Macau
    Population: approximately 679,600
    Capital city: Macau (population: around 673,000)
  25. Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
    Population: 7.5 million
    Capital city: Hong Kong (population: 7.5 million)
  26. Taiwan
    Population: 23.6 million
    Capital city: Taipei (population: 2.6 million)


About Author

I was born in 1979 in Hungary and since my young age I'm interested in China. First, Hong Kong movies had an impact on me, then slowly, I went deeper into understanding and getting to know more about China and its vast history, culture and society. Recent years brought up lots of anti-China, even sinophobic sentiment, lead by misguiding media content in some countries. I'm making this website for those, who are curious about the real China, open minded for the truth and ready to know and understand more about this great country and its nation.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like


Demographic changes in China 1950-2023

Demographic changes in China 1950-2023 China's population increased from 542 million (1950) to 1.4 billion (2023)

Most expensive cities in China

China is a large country with a diverse economy and a range of living costs, and there are several cities